Big Window

a quick glimpse of something beautiful

A Face for Radio

        As usual I am unusually tired.
        All night my fingers double-crossed me,
        tangled up in someone else’s hair.
        Breakfast is sand with a promise of pearls.
        If I were an operation, I’d be fly-by-night
        and very bloody. If I were a sow,
        I’d be hog-tied. I was born under
        the sign of the toy breed, the yapper,
        if you will–and I will–on the cusp
        of bikini season.  Somersaults,
        cartwheels.  Call me poorly executed.
        Call me late for dinner and a regrettable
        houseguest, wet towel on the bed.
        Call me go-getter, meaning going going gone.
        If anyone needs me I’ll be at the arcade
        across from the fire station, shooting
        the teeth off the cardboard clown.
        If you give me a dollar I’ll take
        my top off and let you see my heart.

by Dora Malech
published by Post Road

Filed under: Poetry

One Response - Comments are closed.

  1. molly says:

    yes. this could be my chant for today.

What Moves You?

The Blogger

On Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,712 other followers

