Big Window

a quick glimpse of something beautiful

Whalen by Noelle Kocot

    What I mean is the sea.
    What I mean is a pale
    Piano filled with rainwater.
    What I mean is a box (colored blue)
    And an animal of light
    And air rushing through these vacant rooms.
    What I mean is, I’m sorry
    If things are lazy and not the same,
    If I travel without my candy soup.
    I no longer wish for what I cannot have,
    And yet I love you,
    Your being and recklessness,
    The way the light strands
    Itself in tomorrow,
    The way that book on dreams
    Seeps out dreams onto a plastic couch.
    What I mean is man, I don’t believe
    That oranges are not squares, that you
    Are not a paper ghost, that a balloon
    Of thought doesn’t clap its hands
    Lightly, over the frozen summer moon.

by Noelle Kocot
published in Slope #24

Untitled_plastic_couch_by_michale_v

Filed under: Poetry

One Response - Comments are closed.

  1. Anonymous12 says:

    Very nice poem πŸ˜€ I liked the Piano filled with rainwater, great image.

What Moves You?

The Blogger

On Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,712 other followers

