Big Window

a quick glimpse of something beautiful

Open 45: Negative Capability

This poetry prompt is based on "Today I Didn't," a poem by Terry Ehret from her booDog and bone clipartk Lost Body.  As you can quickly see, it's a structure in which you describe what-is by describing what-isn't. This example by a boy in juvenile detention is about a dozen years old, but I still remember the powerful voice.


Today
I Didn’t

Today
I didn’t wake up when I felt it was a good

time.  Today I didn’t wake up in my comfortable

bed.  Today I didn’t eat what I wanted to
eat.  I

didn’t go to McDonald’s and order
a large orange

juice and two hash browns. 
Today I didn’t smoke a

satisfying Marlboro Light.  I didn’t go to Stop-N-Go

and beg the clerk to
sell me a pack of cigarettes. 

Today I
didn’t watch TV.  I didn’t watch X-Files

or The Simpsons.  Today I didn’t
wear a nice shirt.  I

didn’t wear my
favorite Gap or Polo shirt.  Today I

didn’t
relax on my hammock and swing back and

forth while getting dizzy.  I didn’t listen to the radio

and find the
similarity between the song and

experiences in my life.  Today I didn’t drive to the

mall.  I didn’t pick up my friends.  I didn’t even

hang out with my friends.


Today
I didn’t curse out the staff.  I didn’t
bother to

get upset over their demands. 
I didn’t get upset

over their comments. 
Today I didn’t go to Special

Class because I didn’t do any of the above,
which

would cause me to go.  I didn’t sit
in an isolated

room for thirteen hours. 
I didn’t feel as if I were

about to die of boredom.  I didn’t throw a chair or

table due to
receiving a black mark.  I didn’t get

slammed against the walls, on the floor, not even

against tables, or in better
terms, get restrained.  I

didn’t get
handcuffed to the door of the Special

Class. 
I didn’t get hog-tied and thrown into Time

Out.  I didn’t cry out of my fury.  I didn’t cause any

problems that would have
caused me to spend my

46th day in the Special Room.  Today I didn’t have a

bad day.

By
James

If you try this exercise, feel free to share your link with the rest of us.

Filed under: Writing Exercise

2 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. christine says:

    Heartbreaking. This poem is a great lesson in showing not telling. I like the exercise too.

  2. Very powerful. I like the idea of “not-telling” what happens as a way to show what happens. Kinda one of those “this is not something we talk about” topics.

What Moves You?

The Blogger

On Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,897 other followers

